About us

Studio Bright (previously known as MAKE Architecture) is a Melbourne based practice creating enduring and responsive architecture for people and places. For us, every project is an opportunity to contribute in a positive and generous way to the social and built fabric of our cities. We approach challenges with optimism and consider how design can meet fundamental human needs.

And while the scale of our projects might shift, from residential, to civic, educational and multi-residential, each is bound by a sense of craft and considered detail. Often it’s here, where the bigger stories lie. At the most primary level, Studio Bright makes spaces. But we’re about much more than that—we’re about connecting individuals and communities, enriching daily life, and balancing rigour with joy, every step of the way.


2 Hodgson Street Kew Victoria 3101 (see map here)
+61 3 9853 4730


Follow us on Instagram

We acknowledge the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung people of the Eastern Kulin nation on whose country we work and create.

We also acknowledge the traditional custodians throughout Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander lands where our projects are placed. We recognise their ongoing connection to country, land and waters that were never ceded and pay our respects to Elders, past, present and future generations.


Studio Bright is certified Carbon Neutral since December 2020. The emissions produced from our operations, products and services have been calculated by the Carbon Reduction Institute. Studio Bright has purchased carbon offsets accredited under the Gold Standard to offset these emissions.

Melissa Bright

Principal and Design Director

Rob McIntyre

Director for Design Realisation

Emily Watson

Director of Architecture

Ryan de Winnaar

Director of Practice

Annie Suratt


Jaxon Webb


Maia Close

Project Architect

Robert Hillman

Project Architect

Laura McConaghy

Project Architect

Tara Moore


Pei She Lee

Architectural Draftsperson

Sofia Turtle


Maryna Popova


Grace Upton Jones


Patricia Karallis

Practice Manager

Rebecca Udvary

Studio Manager

2023 Australian Design Awards – Multi Residential – Constructed: Silver: Quay Quarter Lanes (8 Loftus St)

2024 NSW Architecture Award – Residential Architecture – Houses (New): Wilkinson Award: Maitland Bay House

2022 Architizer A+ Awards: Residential Multi Unit Housing – Mid Rise (5-15 Floors): Special Mention: Quay Quarter Lanes (8 Loftus St)

2022 Dezeen Awards – Urban House of the Year: Winner: 8 Yard House

2023 Grand Designs Australia House of the Year Awards – Large Renovation: Winner: Autumn House

2023 Victorian Architecture Awards – Small Project Architecture: Commendation: Firbank Sandringham Curiosity Centre

2023 IDEA Awards – Event: Winner: Barbara Hepworth at Heide Museum of Modern Art

2024 Victorian Architecture Awards – Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations and Additions): John and Phyllis Murphy Award: Mansard House